Search Site


No Easy Way by mountaineer Mick Fowler shortlisted for the 2019 Boardman Tasker Award for Mountain Literature

Monday, 2nd September 2019

No Easy Way, the third volume of memoirs by award-winning British mountaineer and author Mick Fowler, has been shortlisted for the 2019 Boardman Tasker Award for Mountain Literature. 

Published by independent publisher Vertebrate, the book was shortlisted among five other titles from a total of thirty submissions. The award judges said that the book is ‘written in Fowler’s inimitable style; self-deprecating, understated, never taking himself too seriously while at the same time conveying that what he is engaged in is very serious indeed.’

Fowler is one of a specialist number of mountaineers who eschew the media circus of the world’s tallest peaks and seek out technically challenging unclimbed objectives in the remote Himalaya. Following on from Vertical Pleasure and On Thin IceNo Easy Way recounts a series of expeditions to stunning mountains most westerners will never have seen, let alone climbed. 

A former president of the Alpine Club, Fowler is the recipient of three prestigious Piolets d’Or awards – the Oscars of the mountaineering world – as well as the title of Mountaineer’s Mountaineer in The Observer. 

The Boardman Tasker Award was established in 1983 to commemorate the lives of outstanding British mountaineers and authors Peter Boardman and Joe Tasker who lost their lives on the North-East Ridge of Mount Everest in 1982. The annual prize promotes literature by awarding £3,000 to authors of an outstanding work concerned with the mountain environment. 

This is the tenth year Vertebrate titles have been selected for the shortlist, with four titles having previously won the prize: Ron Fawcett’s Rock Athlete in 2010, Andy Kirkpatrick’s Cold Wars in 2012, The Bond by Simon McCartney in 2016, and in 2017, Art of Freedom by Bernadette McDonald.

The five titles that complete the shortlist are Lands of Lost Borders by Kate Harris, Inner Ranges by Geoff Powter, Paul Preuss by David Smart, Hangdog Daysby Jeff Smoot and The Equilibrium Line by David Wilson.

The winner will be announced at the Boardman Tasker Award presentation on Friday 15 November 2019 at the Kendal Mountain Festival. 

. . .